Try TIDAL’s offer for 90 days – Hi-Res, MQA Masters streaming to your desktop

Want to try MQA Masters for 90-days? TIDAL has a free subscription trial (you have to cancel to avoid paying after 90 days). Once I signed up I went to the Account and upgraded the subscription to the “HiFi” version. It says $19.99/mo but under the trial it didn’t charge me for the upgrade.  I then actually cancelled the subscription so it wouldn’t charge PayPal after 90 days. I can always sign up later again and start paying :)

http://tidal.com/us/lemonade-offer

de-tidalsetup000

[NOTE: If that 90-day offer special for Beyonce goes away here is there standard trial signup page for 30-days trial: http://tidal.com/us/try-now-b  — Select the trial for the HiFi-Masters program on the right. ]

Then download the TIDAL player from here — you need the desktop app to stream MQA masters (it says the Chrome browser will do it as well but I didn’t try that).
http://tidal.com/us/download

Choose the browser app (leftmost) to allow Master MQA playback from your computer.

de-tidalsetup1

Once you are in the player you can find MQA under “What’s New” then scroll a page down and you’ll see “Masters” (I highlighted in yellow) in the center of the screen. Choose it to get to the MQA mastered titles. Then you can choose “Show All” to view all the albums available. I have quickly picked over 500 titles (choosing entire albums) and 36 hours of music to try this.

de-tidalsetup2

If you have an MQA DAC (Meridian, Mytek,…) you can choose “Masters” again in the lower right corner of the player to popup the setup. You can pick your MQA DAC if it sees the driver. If not, you can use the TIDAL app to decode MQA within its limits whatever they are.

de-tidalsetup4

In order to use my Meridian Explorer2 I also had to hover over the driver name then pick the Gear icon setup that allowed me to set the player in “Passthrough” mode which means it hands the audio to my MQA DAC for decoding. I prefer this because it supports up to 24/192k which I see for example on James Taylor’s “Mud Slide Slim” album playback. Amazing! Also choose the “Exclusive Mode” option too as a suggestion.

de-tidalsetup5

I bought that LP when I was little more than 10 years old. I still listen to it a lot. Wore out a number of vinyl copies over the years. CD versions of this are never good at all, but the MQA playback at 24/192 streaming from TIDAL (all 3 LEDs and Blue Light) is incredibly good!

I added titles in my playlist from Joni, Jethro Tull, Sabbath, The Dead, Tom Petty, Emmylou Harris, The Band, Jackson Browne…many others. They have some great stuff up there already. I then added Mott The Hoople, Todd Rundgren, Bowie, Dwight Yoakam, Mudcrutch, Mark Knopfler, CSN, Doors.  All albums, not songs. I’ve heard some of these CDs with distaste for decades! They sound great through the lossless streaming on TIDAL. What more can I say.

I have a slow Internet sometimes and buffering (stutter) has been a bit of a problem but when the skies are clear, the sound streams fine. This is a great way to try MQA masters lossless quality online without buying any new gear as the TIDAL player will decode the MQA for you. There may be advantages to having your own DAC at some point but not required… Enjoy!

Aloha! – DE

3 thoughts on “Try TIDAL’s offer for 90 days – Hi-Res, MQA Masters streaming to your desktop

  1. mark evenson

    David, never used Tidal. Is the audio quality the same as HiRes downloads? Can I save the Tidal streaming to my desktop ie the albums in MQA HiRes, and load them to my DAP? I suspect not but don;t know.

    Mark

    Reply
    1. david elias Post author

      Mark TIDAL has been unique since starting cause they provided CD lossless quality streaming (16/44.1).

      As of a few days ago they finally released their Masters option under HiFi subscriptions which can provide MQA master lossless quality. They even have an app that streams to 24/96.

      I use this same service with my $199 MQA Meridian Explorer2 DAC and see some of their masters steaming at 24/192k. Others are just at 24/44.1 it looks like or 24/96 depending on the title.

      So yes it’s hi-res — and no you can’t download just stream from a desktop today.

      Hope that helps. It’s nice to be able to try it for free. Just beware they take credit card/Paypal up front and will charge you after the trial expires unless you cancel the subscription prior.

      Reply

Your Thoughts?

